SA Golf Industry Awards Night - PGA of Australia

SA Golf Industry Awards Night

The achievements of the South Australian Golf Industry have been celebrated with 180 golfing representatives from around the state attending the South Australian Golf Industry Awards Night held at The Playford on the evening of Saturday 26 October.

Joint Master of Ceremonies for the night were Ben Hook and Leith Forrest who conducted interviews with all awards winners.

Special guests of the night included SA Golf Hall of Fame Members, David Cherry, John Crosby, Pailine Sanderson, Bob Tuohy and Sue Tuohy representing her mother Rhonda Watson.

In total 14 trophies were presented as part of the SA Industry Awards Night, which covered industry-specific awards from Golf Australia, the PGA of Australia, Golf Management Australia and the Australian Golf Course Superintendents Association as well as awards for volunteer contributions to the game from both Metropolitan and Country areas.

Amongst the highlights of the Awards evening was the presentation of the Award for Service to the South Australian Golf Industry. This award was presented to Ken Graetz who has made an outstanding contribution to golf specifically in regard to country golf in the Murraylands District.

The full list of award recipients:

  • SA Junior Boy’s Vardon – Jack Buchanan (Glenelg)
  • SA Women’s Vardon – Charly Jacobs (Glenelg)
  • SA Men’s Vardon – Jack Buchanan (Glenelg)
  • PGA Ladbrokes Pro Am of the Year – Blitz Golf
  • PGA Development Professional of the Year (Sponsored by Golf Car Solutions) – Anne-Marie Knight (West Beach Parks)
  • PGA Coach of the Year – Daniel Blackwell (Kooyonga)
  • PGA Club Professional of the Year Award (Sponsored by CCA) – Cody Sherratt (Thaxted Park)  
  • Service to the SA Golf Industry – Ken Graetz (Murraylands District)
  • SAGCSA Graduate Award (Sponsored by SACGSA) – Thomas Burridge (Kooyonga)
  • SAGCSA Award for Excellence in Turf Management (Sponsored by Toro) – Rowan Daymond (The Grange Golf Club)
  • MyGolf Deliverer of the Year Award (Sponsored by BGC Industrial Cleaning Supplies) – Connor Chant (Aston Hills Golf Club)
  • Country Volunteer of the Year (Sponsored by Programmed Property Services) – Grant Parker (Oakbank Golf Club)
  • Metropolitan Volunteer of the Year (Sponsored by MiClub) – Rose Clark (Westward Ho)
  • GMA Distinguished Service for Golf Club Management Award (Sponsored by Schweppes) – Barry Linke (The Grange Golf Club)

Headlines at a glance

Media Centre